Souls of London

Souls of London is the fictional universe that starts first chronologically, but it’s not the first stories written. It started back in 2006-2007 with a massive 130K book titled Scarred Souls, with several characters and head-hopping between them. I moved away from that when I learnt better, thankfully. These books have been through several rewrites and re-structures… and they’ve finally arrived at a place I’m happy with.

Scarred Souls

Scarred Souls is the title that started it all. It was always in reference to Josh and Damian, and now they’ve got their very own serial with that name. These two characters have been through a lot. They have five books and one short story released, all about them, and it spans over five years.

They are broken, they are scarred… but even people as messed up as them can find love. They might not be quite compatible (what with Damian being asexual and Josh very much sexual), but they make the most of it. It’s fascinating and it’s hard to write episodes in this serial. Especially when I’m in Josh’s head.

The books are as follows:

  1. Scarred Souls
  2. Scarred Within
  3. Scarred Deep
  4. Scarred For Life
  5. Scarred Love
  6. Scarred Hearts
  7. Scarred Mind
  8. Scarred Wounds

Will there be more? Yes, probably. I don’t think their story is done. However, I don’t have any plans to write more right now. I have other characters clamouring for a chance at getting their stories told.

Inked Souls

Inked Souls is only a stand-alone, for now. Maybe forever. Kian and Silver wrapped things up perfectly in this book, I think. It spans a few months, mirroring the first two books in Scarred Souls. There might be more in the future, but as of right now, no.

Inked Souls started out as Skin Deep, a 15K book consisting of three separate short stories telling the tale of Kian and Silver’s relationship. When I rewrote every other book, I also rewrote this one and made it one long story instead of three separate pieces.

Broken Souls

Broken Souls started its life as Measured Doses. It was completely rewritten and re-titled Broken Souls in 2014 and has since been known as such. (With a brief stint as simply Broken). It is, so far, my first and only triad relationship. It wasn’t always an m/m/m kind of book. In the beginning, it was only Chad and Dion. Jeremy wasn’t in the picture. I think he might’ve been dead. Then he came back and it all morphed into this 4-part serial spanning only a couple of months.

Chad is the one who narrates most of the story and he’s my most unreliable narrator. He’s suffering from a debilitating mental illness where he hallucinates. Sometimes he has no idea what’s real and what’s fantasy. Sometimes he thinks his hallucinations are real. It was quite interesting to delve deep into Chad’s head in this one. (He wasn’t as mentally ill originally, but something was certainly wrong then too, and it’s all answered here.)

The books are as follows:

  1. Broken Souls
  2. Broken Minds
  3. Broken Pieces
  4. Broken Promises

Will there be more? Not right now. Their story is done as of now, but if the series makes a time-jump and they start talking again, then who knows?

Lost Souls

Lost Souls jumps forward in time a little. It stars Damian’s cousin, Matt, as the narrator. He’s not quite as unreliable as Chad, but he’s certainly up there on a firm second place. I can’t say much because that would be spoiler-y for Scarred Souls, but Matt’s got some issues.

There are currently two books in this serial:

  1. Lost Souls
  2. Lost Heart

Will there be more? Yes. I plan on writing at least one more book with Matt as the narrator. He’s still got some loose ends that needs tidying up, but I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it. There are so many characters and so many stories clamouring for attention.

Bruised Souls

Bruised Souls is so far the last serial in the Souls of London universe. It stars Kasey (Kian’s little brother who we first met in Inked Souls) and Wynn (Chad’s best friend who we first met in Broken Souls). There’s a little bit of an age-difference here. Kasey’s 18 and Wynn’s in his twenties (I can’t remember exactly how old he is now… 24-25, maybe? Anyway, it’s not that many years).

There are currently two books in this serial:

  1. Bruised Souls
  2. Bruised Skin

Will there be more? Yeees. Quite likely. I wanted to write a third book but it all stalled in my head. There’s a short story that was available under the old pen name that I would like to expand. There’s a plot point I want to delve into… but it won’t be in the nearest future. Unless they start talking and spark my interest, that is. My brain is a fickle place and it suffers from new-shiny-syndrome.

Will there be more books?

Yes, there will be more books. There are more characters to explore in this universe. I want to write something about Leslie and Spencer (Damian’s co-workers). I don’t know how short or long it’ll be, but it’ll be something. I want to write a story for Tyler (you know, the narrator of A Shattered Soul, that non-romance short story without a happy ending?). Adam needs his story told. There will be some MF and FF in this universe, but that’s Therese’s domain, not mine. Put shortly, YES. There will be more books.

Related Posts